Free pronunciation checkers with no sign-up, compared
A pronunciation checker can score a passage you read aloud, drill one word, or compare you with a real speaker, and the free ones differ a lot in limits, sign-up and what they can tell you. Nine tools, one table, each read on its own site on 30 September 2026.
Want to check your pronunciation now, with nothing to install? Sada’s free English pronunciation checker works on its own page: pick or type an English sentence, say it and see which words came across. To find which sounds need work, take the free English accent test: six sentences, one sound each, and no made-up accent score.
Last checked: 30 September 2026. Prices and limits change; confirm them on the tool’s own site or in your country’s store.
The short answer: pick by the job
| You want to… | Try |
|---|---|
| Score a passage you read aloud, with detail on individual sounds | AnyToSpeech: free, 30 tests a day, no account stated. It grades sounds; Sada does not. |
| Drill single words with IPA and minimal pairs on a phone | Speakometer: free to download, with an optional subscription. |
| Check one word or a short phrase in a tool you already have | Google Search word practice or, in the United States and India on Android, Translate Practice. See the Google comparison. |
| Compare your voice with a generated model voice for any text | Ondoku: a small free allowance, comparison by ear. |
| Say a real speaker’s line, hear yourself beside them, free and with no account | Sada. How Sada checks a line. |
| Have a person listen to your recordings and correct them | Speechling: a nonprofit with a free plan and paid unlimited coaching. Its coaches judge what Sada cannot. |
| Get sound-by-sound coaching in a course and pay for it | ELSA Speak, or see the BoldVoice alternatives page. |
| Practise a speaking test’s listen-and-repeat task | Sada’s real sentences for PTE Repeat Sentence practice, TOEFL Listen and Repeat practice and Versant Repeat practice. They are practice lines, not test items, and give no score. |
Three kinds of “pronunciation check”
- Score a passage: you read text aloud and a tool returns a number and, in the best cases, the words or sounds that cost you points (AnyToSpeech, ScreenApp). This is the closest thing to a test result, and it depends on how the tool’s model was built, which none of these pages publish.
- Drill a word: you say one word and get feedback on it (Speakometer, Google Search). Useful for a single stubborn word; it says little about how you sound in a sentence.
- Compare with a speaker: you say a line a real person said and listen to yourself beside them (Sada). It checks that your words came across and that your timing kept pace; the judgment about the sound is yours.
None of the pages we read publishes an accuracy figure, so we make no claim about which tool is most accurate. This page compares tools; if you want to use Sada itself, go to the pronunciation checker page, which also explains how to read its feedback.
Sada’s limits, first. Sada shows which words of a line were recognised, missed or added, and how your timing compares with the speaker. It does not grade individual sounds, judge your accent or give a test score; it has no course and no store app, and the first recording downloads a speech model once (about 75 MB on a phone). A free coach gives one tip on the missed word, only when you tap: 3 a day, or 30 with a free account.
Nine tools side by side
Facts are as each tool’s own page or store listing stated on 30 September 2026; “not stated” means the pages we read did not say. Prices are in US dollars and change by country.
| Tool | Free use and limits | Account | What it tells you | Where it runs | Price | Where your audio goes | Arabic |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AnyToSpeech | Free; 30 free tests a day | Not required, per its page | A score out of 100 with completeness, accuracy, fluency and pronunciation sub-scores; word-level errors; phoneme-level analysis; tips | Browser; iOS and Android apps | Unlimited use from $7 a month | Its page: audio is “sent for analysis and immediately deleted”; recordings are never stored | Arabic is among the languages the test lists; interface language not stated |
| Ondoku | Free tier: 1,000 characters without sign-up, 5,000 a month with free registration, per its page | Optional; registration raises the limit | You record yourself and compare with a generated model voice; the page describes comparing sound, intonation, rhythm and fluency. An automatic score: not stated | Browser, on phones and computers | Paid plans exist; prices not read | Not stated | Lists 81 languages including English in American, British, Australian and Indian variants; interface language not stated |
| ScreenApp | Free online check; “usage limits apply” | Its page: no account needed to start | A score from 0 to 100 and timestamped suggestions on your recording. Whether individual sounds are graded: not stated | Browser; app downloads need a paid plan, per its page | Not stated on the page read | Its page: recordings are encrypted in transit and at rest and are not used to train models | Says it works in other languages; Arabic and interface language not stated |
| 60dB | Free demo: 10 requests every 24 hours | Not for the demo; sign-up to export with timestamps and speaker labels | Pronunciation correction with a transcription. How it grades: not stated on the page read | Browser | “Free to try”; pricing page not read | Not stated | Lists 40+ languages with dedicated models including Arabic; interface language not stated |
| Speakometer | Free to download; what is free and what is Premium is not itemised on the pages read | Not stated | Feedback after you say single English words aloud; IPA guidance, minimal pairs, 65,000+ words, British and American models | iPhone and Android (its site); the US App Store also lists iPad, iPod touch, Mac (M1 or later) and Apple Vision | US App Store: $4.99 monthly, $19.99 for 6 months, $29.99 yearly | Not stated; its App Store privacy label lists device ID, purchase history, product interaction and crash data linked to the user | Not stated on the pages read |
| Google Search “Practice” | No price stated; a feature of Google Search | Not stated | Say a single word into a phone’s microphone and get feedback on what could be adjusted (Google’s post, 14 November 2019) | Phones (at launch) | No charge stated | Not stated | American English at launch, Spanish to follow; Arabic not mentioned |
| Google Translate “Practice” | No price stated; a feature of the Translate app | Not stated | You speak a translation aloud and get instant feedback; it covers words, sentences and phrases (TechCrunch) | The Android app, in the United States and India (Google’s post, 28 April 2026) | No charge stated | Not stated | English, Spanish and Hindi; Arabic is not among them |
| ELSA Speak | 7-day free trial, then a subscription | Required | Each sound, stress, intonation and fluency, in its own lessons | iPhone and Android apps; its FAQ says it cannot be used on a PC or laptop | Varies by country and offer; see the store listing for yours | Not stated on the pages we read | Interface: not listed; its App Store listing shows English |
| Sada | Everything is free | Not needed to practise; a free, optional account (Google or email) keeps your practice history on every device and raises the coach’s tips from 3 to 30 a day | Recognised, missed and extra words in a line, and your timing against the speaker. Not individual sounds. A free coach gives one tip on the missed word, only when you tap: 3 a day, or 30 with a free account | Any modern browser, on a phone or a computer | Free, no paid plan | Stays on your device; not uploaded | Arabic interface |
Each tool: who it suits and its limits
AnyToSpeech
Best for: You want a numeric score with detail on individual sounds for a passage you read aloud, and 30 tests a day is enough.
Limits: It scores what you read from text, not an imitation of a real speaker. The free limit is daily. Where a tool grades sounds and Sada does not, this is the difference that matters, and here AnyToSpeech is stronger than Sada.
Sources: AnyToSpeech pronunciation test.
Ondoku
Best for: You want to hear a synthetic model of any text you type and compare your voice with it by ear.
Limits: The model is a generated voice, not a person, and the page does not describe automatic grading. The free limit counts characters.
Sources: Ondoku: English pronunciation check.
ScreenApp
Best for: You have a recording already and want a quick score and time-stamped notes with no install.
Limits: The limits are not itemised on the page we read, and it does not say what a low score means at the level of sounds.
Sources: ScreenApp pronunciation checker.
60dB
Best for: You want a few free trials in one of many languages, including Arabic speech, with no account.
Limits: Ten requests a day, and the page we read does not explain the feedback in detail.
Sources: 60dB pronunciation checker.
Speakometer
Best for: You want to drill isolated words with IPA and minimal pairs on your phone.
Limits: Single words, not connected speech, and it is an app with a subscription. How it grades is not explained on the pages we read.
Sources: speakometer.net, its App Store listing.
Google Search “Practice”
Best for: You need a fast check of one word inside a tool you already have.
Limits: We found no current Google help page that confirms where this feature is available today, so the launch post is the only source, and it dates from 2019. Single words only.
Sources: Google’s launch post, 2019.
Google Translate “Practice”
Best for: You are on Android in the United States or India and want a quick check of a word or phrase you just translated.
Limits: Three languages and two countries in the launch coverage, and Android only. It is a feature inside a translator, so the text you practise is the text you translated.
Sources: Google’s post, April 2026, TechCrunch, 9to5Google.
ELSA Speak
Best for: You want sound-by-sound coaching in a structured course and are willing to pay.
Limits: Not free beyond the trial, and it needs an account. See our detailed comparison for the details we checked.
Sources: our ELSA Speak comparison, its App Store listing.
Sada
Best for: You want to say a real speaker’s line, hear yourself beside the speaker, and see which words came across, free and with no account.
Limits: No grading of individual sounds, no course, no store app, and captions or a transcript are needed. For sound-level scoring use a tool above.
Sources: how Sada checks a line.
Where your recording goes
Privacy is a real difference between these tools. AnyToSpeech says audio is sent for analysis and deleted straight away. ScreenApp says recordings are encrypted and not used to train models. Sada runs speech recognition inside your browser and keeps recordings on your device. For Ondoku, 60dB, Speakometer, Google’s two features and ELSA Speak, the pages we read did not say what happens to your audio, so check each privacy policy before you record something personal.
A free routine that uses two tools
- Read a short passage into a tool that scores, such as AnyToSpeech, and note the one or two words it marks.
- Find those words in a line a real speaker says, and say the line after the speaker in Sada.
- Record a take, play it beside the original and listen for the difference the checker pointed at.
- Say the line once more, then move to the next line.
To make it a habit without a partner, see how to practise speaking English alone.
Try Sada on one line
Open the free recording exerciseThe exercise opens on one short, slow line at 02:20.0: “You don't need to speak fast.” Listen to it, record your version, then open Compare and play your take beside the original.
Free, with no account and no paid plan. Recordings stay on your device.
Three real lines to run through any checker
Each line comes from a real talk in Sada’s library. Type it into a checker to see what it marks, then say it after the speaker.
“Anybody go shopping and put on a pair of pants this week?”
Ivan Joseph · 4:37 · Practise this line →
Paste this sentence into any checker below and see what it flags, then say it here and hear it beside the speaker. P and B sit in the same line.
“The other thing that they had in common was this:”
Brené Brown · 9:43 · Practise this line →
A short line with the voiced and voiceless TH. Compare how a checker marks “thing” and “the”, then listen to the speaker’s two sounds.
“There's nothing wrong with a bit of silence in a talk, is there?”
Julian Treasure · 6:34 · Practise this line →
A longer line that ends in a tag question. Word feedback tells you whether every word came across; the melody of “is there?” you judge by ear.
When Sada is not the right choice
- You want each sound graded. AnyToSpeech and ELSA Speak do this and Sada does not.
- You want a number to put on a form. Sada gives no test score, level or accent rating.
- You want a human coach or a course. See the BoldVoice alternatives.
- You have no captions or transcript for the audio you want to practise. Sada needs one of them.
How we compared
On 30 September 2026 we opened each tool’s own page, or its store listing, and linked what we used under the tool. We did not buy subscriptions, create accounts or rate the tools. Sada is made by the team that wrote this page, so we listed its limits first. Vendor-written “best of” lists were used only to find tools, never as a source of facts about them.
Related pages
Questions people ask
Is there a free pronunciation checker that needs no account?
Yes, several. On 30 September 2026 AnyToSpeech (30 free tests a day), ScreenApp, 60dB (10 free requests every 24 hours) and Ondoku (a small allowance) said they can be tried without an account, and Sada needs none and has no paid plan. Limits and prices differ; see the table.
Does Sada grade individual sounds?
No. Sada shows which words were recognised, missed or added and how your timing compares with the speaker. For sound-level scoring, a tool such as AnyToSpeech or ELSA Speak does that. What Sada checks and how to read it.
Which pronunciation checker is most accurate for Arabic speakers?
None of the pages we read publishes an accuracy figure, for Arabic speakers or anyone else, so we cannot say. Use a checker to notice words to work on, and confirm by listening to a real speaker.
Do these checkers work on a phone?
The browser tools (AnyToSpeech, ScreenApp, 60dB, Ondoku and Sada) run in a phone browser; AnyToSpeech, Speakometer and ELSA Speak also have apps. Google’s Translate feature was announced for the Android app in the United States and India.
Are my recordings stored?
It depends on the tool. AnyToSpeech says audio is deleted right after analysis, ScreenApp says recordings are encrypted and not used for training, and Sada keeps recordings on your device. Several others do not say on the pages we read.
Is Google’s pronunciation practice a free checker?
Google says its Search feature (2019) and Translate feature (2026) give feedback on speech; no price is stated. Availability is limited; see Google pronunciation practice compared with Sada.
Practise again tomorrow? Get one short sentence a day, ready to record in one tap.
You don't need to speak fast.
A slow line to begin with: listen to how “don’t need to” runs together, then say it at the speaker’s pace.
Free · One email a day · Unsubscribe anytime. Confirm your email to start. We keep only your email, language, time zone and where you signed up.