Speak Pro and Sada, compared honestly
Speak Pro is an app for Apple devices that shadows real YouTube videos with record-and-compare and a subscription; it is a different product from the Speak tutoring app. Sada does the same kind of practice in any browser, free with no account, showing recognised words and timing; it has no app and does not grade individual sounds.
Last checked: 30 September 2026. Prices and limits change; confirm them on the tool’s own site or in your country’s store.
Speak, Speak Pro and Sada: which is which
- Speak (speak.com): a language-learning app built around a speaking tutor and conversation practice, with a 7-day free trial and paid plans, per its site, on iOS, Android and the web. Its pages do not mention Speak Pro or shadowing.
- Speak Pro (speakpro.app): “English Shadowing: Speak Pro”, an app for shadowing real YouTube videos, by the developer named on its App Store listing as Konstantin Simakov. It runs on Apple devices. This page is about this app.
- Sada: a free website for shadowing and repeating captioned YouTube videos, in any modern browser.
Speak Pro’s pages do not state any connection with Speak, and Sada is not affiliated with either.
Is Speak Pro free?
You can download it for free; its site says the app can be used free and that advanced features come with a subscription, without listing which features are free. On the US App Store, on 30 September 2026, its in-app purchases are “1 Month Pro” at $7.99 and “1 Year Pro” at $49.99. Prices differ by country and change, so check your own store. Whether it asks for an account is not stated on the pages we read.
Speak Pro vs Sada
| Compared on | Speak Pro | Sada |
|---|---|---|
| Price | Free download; Pro $7.99 a month or $49.99 a year (US App Store, 30 September 2026) | Free, no paid plan |
| What you practise | Paste a YouTube link (“if we can retrieve a transcript”), or use its curated videos with verified transcripts | Any YouTube video with usable captions, or a pasted transcript, SRT or VTT file; a library of famous talks by level |
| Record and compare | Record a segment and the app lines up your audio with the original, so you can hear differences in timing, pitch and pronunciation | Record a take and play it beside the original; a check of which words were recognised and your timing |
| Feedback | Automatic pronunciation and fluency feedback, per its site; how it is produced is not stated | Words recognised or missed, and timing against the speaker; not individual sounds |
| Languages practised | English (American and British), Spanish, French, German, Japanese, Korean and Italian, per its site | English, plus Spanish, French, German, Italian and Portuguese pages |
| Where | Apple devices only: iPhone and iPad (iOS and iPadOS 18 or later), Mac with an M1 chip or later (macOS 15), Apple Vision (visionOS 2). Android: not stated | Any modern browser, phone or computer; no store app |
| Arabic | An Arabic page on its site and Arabic in the App Store languages list | Arabic interface |
| Account | Not stated | Not needed |
| Your voice | Where recordings are processed: not stated. Its App Store privacy label lists identifiers, usage data and diagnostics as data not linked to you | Recognised on your device; recordings are not uploaded |
When Speak Pro is the better choice
If you use an iPhone, iPad or Mac and want an app rather than a website, with more languages than English and automatic feedback on pronunciation and fluency, Speak Pro offers things Sada does not: a store app, a wider set of practice languages and a paid tier with more features. Its recordings are lined up against the original for you, where Sada leaves the comparison to your ear.
When Sada is the better choice
If you are on Android or Windows, want to start with no download and no account, pay nothing, and keep your recordings on your device, Sada runs in the browser you already have. It does not grade individual sounds and has no app. How to shadow a YouTube video.
Using both
The same method suits both. Use Speak Pro on an Apple device if you like its app, and Sada anywhere else, on the same talk.
Try Sada on one line
Open the free recording exerciseThe exercise opens on one short, slow line at 02:20.0: “You don't need to speak fast.” Listen to it, record your version, then open Compare and play your take beside the original.
Free, with no account and no paid plan. Recordings stay on your device.
Three real lines for either tool
“Would you all like to stand up for a moment?”
Julian Treasure · 7:49 · Practise this line →
A question that starts low and rises at the end. Record it, then play your take beside the original and watch where your voice goes up.
“Management is not a tree, it's a television set.”
Dan Pink · 13:08 · Practise this line →
Two balanced halves with a pause between them. Try to match the length of the pause as well as the words.
“So the major barrier's not intellectual, it's emotional.”
Josh Kaufman · 18:51 · Practise this line →
A contrast: “intellectual” against “emotional”. Both carry stress, so listen to whether yours do.
Other comparisons
Sources
Checked 30 September 2026: speakpro.app (YouTube links, record and compare, feedback, languages, free use), Speak Pro in Arabic (the Arabic page), Speak Pro on the App Store (prices, devices, languages, privacy label), speak.com (what Speak is). Prices and limits change; check the tool’s own site or your own store.
Practise one line, step by step
- Open an exercise from this guide. Choose a captioned video and a line whose meaning you understand.
- Listen and read the caption, then say the line after the speaker in Repeat mode.
- Try saying the line with the speaker in Shadow mode, following the rhythm and pauses.
- Record a take, then open Compare and play your recording and the original. Review words and timing; Sada does not grade individual sounds.
- Repeat the line while focusing on one difference you heard, then move to another line.
Questions people ask
Is Speak Pro the same app as Speak?
The two names are different products on different sites: Speak (speak.com) is a language app built around a speaking tutor, and Speak Pro (speakpro.app) is a YouTube shadowing app. The pages we read do not state any link between them. Sada is not affiliated with either.
Is Speak Pro free?
It is a free download with a subscription for advanced features. On the US App Store on 30 September 2026 the in-app purchases were 1 Month Pro at $7.99 and 1 Year Pro at $49.99. Sada is free with no paid plan.
Is there an Android version of Speak Pro?
Not stated on the pages we read; its App Store listing shows iPhone, iPad, Mac and Apple Vision. Sada runs in an Android browser.
Does Sada have an app?
No store app. Sada is a website that works in a phone or computer browser.
Does either grade individual sounds?
Neither describes sound-by-sound grading on the pages we read. Speak Pro gives automatic pronunciation and fluency feedback and lines your take up against the original; Sada shows which words were recognised and your timing, and does not grade individual sounds.
Do they have an Arabic interface?
Speak Pro has an Arabic page and lists Arabic on its App Store listing. Sada has an Arabic interface.
Practise again tomorrow? Get one short sentence a day, ready to record in one tap.
You don't need to speak fast.
A slow line to begin with: listen to how “don’t need to” runs together, then say it at the speaker’s pace.
Free · One email a day · Unsubscribe anytime. Confirm your email to start. We keep only your email, language, time zone and where you signed up.